Checking in with Previous Winners of the Screenwriting Competitions

The Nantucket Film Festival is a screenwriters' festival, designed to promote awareness and appreciation of the art form that acts as the blueprint to every film we know and love. As such, we take great pride in our annual screenwriting competitions and investment in the success of our winners.

Showtime's Tony Cox Feature Film Screenplay Competition

Last year's Feature Film winner, Cake, written by Patrick Tobin, went on to earn a much coveted slot on 2013's Black List, a compilation of the best unproduced scripts in Hollywood. It has been optioned by Ben and Daniel Barnz, and Mr. Tobin was signed by WME as a result. Kaitlin McLaughlin, 2012's winner for The Murphys, is currently in post-production on her directorial debut, Pocha, and received development funds to shoot The Murphys in Ireland early next year. Jenny Deller, screenwriter of 2009's Future Weatherreceived grants from Netflix and Film Independent, before world premiering the film at the Tribeca Film Festival in 2012.

Of course, there's also Sophie Barthes, whose Cold Souls won the 2006 competition and was made into a 2009 film starring Paul Giamatti. Barthes is currently filming an adaptation of Emma Bovary with Mia Wasikowska and Ezra Miller. 2003 winner Chase Palmer, meanwhile, has two scripts in development with director Cary Fukunaga: No Blood, No Gluts, No Glory and Steven King's It. Last but not least, our inaugural winner for Down to the Bone, Debra Granik, achieved great success with Jennifer Lawrence's break-out Winter's Bone, and is currently set to direct a pilot entitled This American Highlife for HBO.



TV winners Ian McWethy and David Baugnon, with judge Raul Esparza

Showtime's Tony Cox Television Pilot Competition (Hour Long and Half Hour Long)

Speaking of television, last year's winner for Television Pilot (Hour Long), David Baugnon, served as a script consultant on the forthcoming Northern Soul, a 70s-set soul music entrée starring Steve Coogan. Our Television Pilot (Half Hour Long) winner Ian McWethy wrote, directed and starred in a Blip comedic webseries Dick Punch.

Showtime's Tony Cox Short Film Screenplay Competition

Moon Molson and Eric Fallen just premiered their winning script The Boldest, The Bravest in its realized form at the Sundance Film Festival.

The regular deadline for all of the Showtime's Tony Cox Screenplay Competitions is March 3, and you can submit to any one of the four categories through Without a Box.