#NFF17 Creative Impact in Television Writing Award Announced

This year's Creative Impact in Television Writing Award, presented at the Screenwriters Tribute, will go to partners Jeffrey Klarik and David Crane.

David Crane is the co-creator with Jeffrey Klarik of the four-time Emmy-nominated Showtime series Episodes, starring Matt LeBlanc, which is about to launch its fifth and final season. For their work on Episodes, Crane and Klarik have received four Emmy nominations for Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series. They also shared two Writers Guild of America nominations for Episodes, as well as a BAFTA nomination for Best Situation Comedy and two Golden Globe nominations for Best Television Series — Musical or Comedy. David is best known as the co-creator of the long-running comedy series Friends, for which he won numerous awards including an Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series. David also co-created the Kirstie Alley comedy Veronica’s Closet, The Powers That Be starring John Forsythe, David Hyde Pierce and Holland Taylor, and the much-beloved HBO series, Dream On, for which he received an Emmy nomination for Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series. With Jeffrey Klarik, David also co-created the award-wining CBS comedy The Class, starring an ensemble that included Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Lizzy Kaplan and Jon Bernthal.

Jeffrey Klarik has been a writer and producer in television for over 25 years. Jeffrey directed all seven episodes of the final season of Episodes. He also created the series Half & Half which ran for four seasons. His work on the hit comedy Mad About You earned him a Golden Globe award as well as an Emmy nomination. He has also written and produced the comedies INK, The Naked Truth, and Dream On.

David and Jeffrey have been partners in life for 28 years.

Join us on June 23rd to celebrate!