#NFF17 Screenwriters Tribute Award Announced: Tom McCarthy

We're so pleased to announce that writer/director Tom McCarthy will receive the #NFF17 Screenwriters Tribute Award! 

Tom McCarthy_directorheadshot.jpg

Tom McCarthy has received critical acclaim for his films The Station Agent (2003), The Visitor (2007), Up (2009), Win Win (2011), and Spotlight (2015) - which won the Academy Award for Best Picture, the Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay, and was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Director. Overall, Spotlight received six Academy Award nominations, three Golden Globe Awards nominations, two Screen Actors Guild Awards nominations, and eight Critics' Choice Award nominations, among many other critical accolades.

Beginning his career as a performer, McCarthy spent several years doing stand-up comedy and theater in Minneapolis and Chicago. He appeared in several films such as Good Night, and Good Luck, Syriana, The Lovely Bones, and Little Fockers and tv shows such as Boston Public and The Wire. He even appeared on Broadway in the 2001 revival of Noises Off!

McCarthy's directorial debut, The Station Agent, which he also wrote, won the Audience Award and the Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award at the 2003 Sundance Film Festival. The film, starring Peter Dinklage, Patricia Clarkson, Bobby Cannavale, also won the BAFTA Award for Best Original Screenplay and the Independent Spirit Award for Best First Screenplay and the Independent Spirit John Cassavetes Award. 

McCarthy's second feature film was The Visitor, which premiered at the 2007 Toronto International Film Festival, and won the 2008 Independent Spirit Award for Best Director. He also co-wrote and directed 2011's Win Win based on his experiences as a wrestler at New Providence High School.

Currently, you can see McCarthy's directing work on the new Netflix series, 13 Reasons Why.

Join us on Friday, June 23 for this incredible evening of celebration! Ticket packages go on sale April 25.