Embargoed until 9AM ET / 6PM PT on Monday, June 24, 2019



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

24th ANNUAL NANTUCKET FILM FESTIVAL ANNOUNCES AUDIENCE AWARD WINNERS FOR NARRATIVE, DOCUMENTARY AND SHORT FILMS

THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON, FOR SAMA, AND SHORTS MASTER MAGGIE AND MACK WRESTLES WIN AUDIENCE AWARDS

SHOWTIME TONY COX SCREENPLAY COMPETITION WINNERS INCLUDE ELIZABETH CHATELAIN, KATE LEVITT, AND ALEXIS BARZIN

BRITTANY RUNS A MARATHON, OFFICIAL SECRETS, THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON, FOR SAMA, MAIDEN, AND SEA OF SHADOWS ANNOUNCED AS BEST OF FEST

Nantucket, MA (June 24, 2019) – The 24th annual Nantucket Film Festival (NFF) today announced the audience winners for this year's festival. Tyler Nilson and Michael Schwartz's **THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON**, about a young man with Down syndrome who teams with a charismatic fugitive for the adventure of a lifetime, is the Narrative Feature Audience Award recipient. Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts' **FOR SAMA**, which courageously captures life in Syria through five years of civil war, is the Documentary Feature Audience Award winner. Matthew Bonifacio and Julianna Gelinas Bonifacio's **MASTER MAGGIE**, in which a strange acting student seeks help from a guru, is the Narrative Short Audience Award recipient, while Erin Sanger and Taylor Hess' portrait of a transgender wrestler, **MACK WRESTLES**, is the Documentary Short Audience Award winner.

THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON and FOR SAMA were among NFF's Best of Fest selections granted special repeat screenings due to popular demand. Other Best of Fest titles included **BRITTANY RUNS A MARATHON**, written/directed by Paul Downs Colaizzo; **OFFICIAL SECRETS**, written by Gregory and Sara Bernstein, directed by Gavin Hood; **MAIDEN**, directed by Alex Holmes; and **SEA OF SHADOWS**, directed by Richard Ladkani.

NFF also announced the winners of the prestigious **Showtime Tony Cox Screenplay Competition**, which recognizes the best unproduced screenplays and television pilots submitted to the Festival by emerging writers. Elizabeth Chatelain received the top prize as the winner of the Feature Screenplay Competition for **SUNDOGS**. The Episodic 60 Minute Pilot Competition nod went to Kate Levitt for **LIVING**, while the Short Screenplay Competition was won by Alexis Barzin for **I KNOW YOUR NUMBER BY HEART**.

Elizabeth Chatelain's SUNDOGS tells the story of Alex, who heads out to the North Dakota oil

fields to work, taking her 12-year-old daughter Jenny with her, after their family farm slips into debilitating debt. Chatelain receives a \$5000 cash prize, VIP access to this year's Festival, and an exclusive spot in the month-long Screenwriters Colony writers retreat on Nantucket in October.

In LIVING, by Kate Levitt, an orthodox Jewish teenager struggles with the conformity of his community by dealing drugs in the secular world, while the rest of his family grapples with identity in their own ways. Levitt receives a \$1000 cash prize, VIP access to this year's Festival, as well as a consultation with a Showtime executive.

In Alexis Barzin's I KNOW YOUR NUMBER BY HEART, a woman loses hope as the world starts to disappear around her. Barzin receives a \$500 cash prize and VIP access to this year's Festival.

The Film Screenplay Competition jury was comprised of screenwriters/directors Hilary Brougher (SOUTH MOUNTAIN, STEPHANIE DALEY) and Sameh Zoabi (TEL AVIV ON FIRE, the 2016 winner in the Feature Screenplay category), as well as Vulture editor, Katherine Brooks.

The Episodic Screenplay Competition jury was comprised of screenwriter and Screenwriters Colony assistant director Bill Gullo; Liz Kelly, associate director of film and television production and development labs for Disney/Fox; and Marisa Guthrie, East Coast television editor, The Hollywood Reporter.

NFF also announced the winner of the **Adrienne Shelly Foundation Excellence in Filmmaking Award**, a \$5,000 grant to an emerging female filmmaker in honor of writer, director, and actor Adrienne Shelly and her contributions to film. This year's recipient is **Annabelle Attanasio**, writer/director of **MICKEY AND THE BEAR**. In Attanasio's directorial debut, teenager Mickey, forced to take on adult responsibilities as her veteran father struggles with addiction and PTSD, must ultimately choose between familial obligation and personal fulfillment.

The Festival's **Teen View on NFF Award**, selected by a group of Nantucket junior high school students to a film that most inspired discussion, went to Erin Sanger and Taylor Hess' **MACK WRESTLES**. Nantucket Golf Club Foundation, ReMain Nantucket Fund, and The Nantucket Fund provided grant support for the Teen View Jury.

"As this year's festival comes to a close, we wanted to take a moment to congratulate this edition's incredible winners. Thank you for bringing such enchanting, powerful, and dynamic films and stories that have captivated audiences," said Mystell Brabbée, Executive Director of the Nantucket Film Festival and Basil Tsiokos, Film Program Director of the Nantucket Film Festival. "Additionally, we would like to thank all of our filmmakers, audience members, staff, sponsors, and volunteers for making this yet another wonderful festival."

Chris and Kathleen Matthews hosted the **Screenwriters Tribute** from the Siasconset Casino on Saturday, June 22nd. Writer **Leslie Dixon** accepted the **Screenwriters Tribute Award** (OUTRAGEOUS FORTUNE, MRS. DOUBTFIRE, HAIRSPRAY, FREAKY FRIDAY, THE THOMAS CROWN AFFAIR, and LIMITLESS), presented to her by Nikki Blonksy and Brittany Snow, who both appeared in Dixon's HAIRSPRAY.

Former and current writers and performers of SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE - **Anne Beatts, Jane Curtin, Heidi Gardner, Sudi Green, and Sarah Schneider** - were presented with this year's **Creative Impact in Television Award**. Among some of the entertainment's funniest storytellers, these women span the full history of SNL and have distinguished themselves with hilarious wit, sketches, and performances while transforming a writer's room that has often been seen as a boy's club. Special guests who attended NFF 2019 included Leslie Dixon, Anne Beatts, Jane Curtin, Sudi Green, Heidi Gardner, Gillian Jacobs, Brittany Snow, Nikki Blonsky, Chris and Kathleen Matthews, Donick Cary, John Shea, Ophira Eisenberg, Scott Cohen, Eugene Mirman, Damian Young, Barbara Kopple, Festival co-founders Jill and Jonathan Burkhart, and many more.

Photos from this year's festival are available here.

The Nantucket Film Festival is supported by Showtime and White Elephant as Major Sponsors; A&E Indie Films, Delta Airlines, WGBH, Bank of America and Brand Content as Signature Sponsors.

ABOUT THE NANTUCKET FILM FESTIVAL

The Nantucket Film Festival was founded by brother and sister team Jonathan and Jill Burkhart in 1996 to promote the cultural awareness and appreciation of screenwriting and storytelling. Since then, NFF has become one of the premier destination film festivals in the world. Visitors come from all over the world to experience the preview screenings, unique signature programs, and stand out hospitality on a magical island rich with history, a friendly atmosphere, and beautiful sandy beaches. In addition to screening over 100 films across six days, NFF presents the Screenwriters Tribute, Late Night Storytelling, the Comedy Roundtable, our daily Morning Coffee With...®, and other Signature Programs.

Press Contacts

FRANK PR | 646.861.0843 Stephanie Davidson | <u>Stephanie@frankpublicity.com</u> Bess Donoghue | <u>Bess@frankpublicity.com</u> Lena Rawley | <u>Lena@frankpublicity.com</u>